Keynote Announcements

South Asian Studies Association of Australia
Society of Architecture Urban Historians of Asia
Malaysia and Singapore Society of Australia
Japanese Studies Association of Australia
Indonesia Council
Association of Mainland Southeast Asia Studies
Ayesha Jalal
Tufts University
Jeremy Hou
University of Washington
Michael Barr
Flinders University
Ho Swee-lin
National University of Singapore
Garin Nugroho
Independent Filmmaker
Philip Hirsch
University of Sydney

Conference Announcement

We are pleased to announce the 23rd biennial conference of the Asian Studies Association of Australia (ASAA) will be held at the University of Melbourne from 6th to the 9th July 2020. The University of Melbourne hosted the inaugural ASAA in 1976 and last hosted the conference in 2000.

The theme for the conference is Future Asias.

The biennial Asian Studies Association of Australia (ASAA) Conference is the largest gathering of experts working on Asia in the southern hemisphere.  The  conference has been a regular feature of Australian scholarly life since 1976. The National Library of Australia has kept a record of these conferences since 2004, using its web archive service, Pandora. A full list of ASAA conferences, and any websites that still exist, is also available on the ASAA website.

The conference will give us the opportunity to explore and discuss the many factors that contribute to the overall Asian Studies success. There will be an exciting program of speakers, panels, social activities and lots of networking opportunities. Delegates will be able to share successful strategies, engage with key stakeholders and develop important partnerships.

We invite you to please mark the conference dates in your diary and consider submitting an abstract or organising a panel. A call for papers will be released in June 2019.

The conference organising committee also welcomes any ideas you have for additional conference events. We really hope that you will help make the conference a success.

Conference Convenor A/Professor Katharine McGregor 

Important Dates

12 June 2019

Call for Papers & Panels Open

01 November 2019

Call for Papers and Panels Closes

01-14 November 2019

Submitted Papers and Panels Review

01 December 2019

Notification of Review Results
Registration Open

08 January 2020

Presenter Registration Due

26 February 2020

Early Bird Registration Closes

Conference Host

The 23rd biennial conference of the Asian Studies Association of Australia (ASAA) is proudly supported by the University of Melbourne.

Visit their website at

ASAA Postgraduate Conference Awards 

The ASAA Postgraduate Conference Awards are supported by our endowment fund, managed by the Australian National University for the ASAA as the ASAA Presidents’ Fund. The ASAA is offering 10 awards, for 10 postgraduate students to attend the 2020 ASAA Conference at the University of Melbourne on 6-9 July.

For further details and the application form click HERE.

Organising Committee

  • Kate McGregor (convenor)
    School of Historical and Philosophical Studies, Faculty of Arts
  • Jemma Purdey
    Executive Assistant, UniMelb
  • Chloe Ho
    Postgraduate Representative, UniMelb
  • Carmen Wong
    Postgraduate Representative, UniMelb
  • Wendy Li
    Postgraduate Representative, UniMelb
  • Jianlin Chen
    Faculty of Law
  • Matt Galway
    School of Historical and Philosophical Studies, Faculty of Arts
  • Amanda Gilbertson
    Australia India Institute
  • Anoma Pieris
    Faculty of Architecture, Building and Planning
  • Fran Martin
    School of Culture and Communication, Faculty of Arts
  • Sidh Sintusingha
    Faculty of Architecture, Building and Planning
  • Jay Song
    Korean Studies, Asia Institute, Faculty of Arts
  • Pradeep Taneja
    School of Social and Political Studies, Faculty of Arts

Meeting Venue

Established in 1853, the University of Melbourne is a public-spirited institution that makes distinctive contributions to society in researchlearning and teaching and engagement. It’s consistently ranked among the leading universities in the world, with international rankings of world universities placing it as number 1 in Australia and number 32 in the world (Times Higher Education World University Rankings 2017-2018).

Founding Members

Inaugural ASAA Conference, Melbourne 1976
L-R, Prof DP Singhal (UQ), Prof JD Legge (Monash), Prof Anthony Reif (ANU), Prof Nicholas Tarling (Auckland University)

Please join our mailing list to be updated as the planning of the conference proceeds.

ASAA acknowledges the traditional custodians of this land and we pay our respects to the Elders both past and present.


The Asian Studies Association of Australia (ASAA) is the peak body of university experts and educators on Asia in Australia. Established in 1976, we promote and support the study of Asia in Australian universities and knowledge of Asia among the broader community. Our membership is drawn mainly from academics and students, but also includes industry and government Asia experts. We take a strong interest in promoting knowledge about Asia in schools and in contributing to state and Commonwealth government policies related to Asia. We provide informed comment on Asia to a broad public through our bulletin, Asian Currents, and specialist research articles in our journal, Asian Studies Review. Four book series published under our auspices cover Southeast Asia, South Asia, East Asia and Women in Asia.

Conference Managers

Please contact the team at Conference Design with any questions regarding the conference.

Photo Credits: Visit Victoria

© 2019 Conference Design Pty Ltd